Posted by: gisspar | July 18, 2009

State of the garden

catmint_1My friendly bumblebee has been hitting the catmint pretty regularly of late. I suppose it’s really more than one, but I’ve only ever seen one at a time. The walker’s low catmint is crazy big this year. I added a couple of new kinds (new to me anyway) of catmint in a different part of the garden and they are more on the delicate side. The flowers are also more interesting. I know I say this every year, but the weather has been really weird. 75 to 100F in two weeks and now the low for tonight is 48F! On the plus side, the plants aren’t under as much stress. The kinda dank weather has brought about a rather sharp increase in the ugly fungus distribution in the backyard. Not much I can do about that.catmint_2Word to the wise: the previous homeowners planted one of the hardy hibiscus shrubs at some point which really is a very hardy, low maintenance shrub. Lots of big bluish-purple flowers for over a month or two and it grows at a very healthy rate. I never water or fertilize them (there are four around the property). The only drawback is that they put out a huge number of seeds every year. At one point in the front garden (next to the largest hibiscus at 7-8ft tall), I had maybe 4-5 square feet of hibiscus seedlings. It was a solid mat of them. There’s even a good twenty or thirty in the lawn. And mowing just doesn’t kill them. Think of them like mint, I guess, and be prepared to take a pretty active role in maintaining a perimeter.

Categories

