Posted by: gisspar | May 21, 2009

Possessed

This is my copy of The Dispossessed (Le Guin):

dispossessedIt had a cover at one point (you can see the tape that held it on); I used it as a bookmark. I read this particular book three times, but my first introduction was a copy my brother had. It is quite possible that I’ve had this book for twenty years now. I suspect that it was one of the first 10 scifi books I ever read. It smells like a book should smell. It smells like a used bookstore, the kind where you have to move a stack of books to get to the lower shelves. The newsprint is rough and yellow. The red edges are losing their color right at thumb height. At some point, the spine will give out; entropy will ensue; and I will have to go search for another copy. That will not be a hardship.

I pulled it off the shelf after reading a post about Le Guin over at the Guardian. Definitely not for the children in the sense that it’s not swashbuckling space pirates chasing hordes of pink unicorns across the heavens. It takes thought. It inspires thought even after 20 years of lugging it around.

As an aside, this is the second time in a month I’ve seen the Cloud Atlas so highly praised. I should probably read it one of these days — it’s been on my stack of unread books for almost 2 years now. I have no excuses. If I get distracted before I’ve finished around 50 pages of any book, it can sit there for a good long while before I get back to it.

Categories

