Posted by: gisspar | May 2, 2009

On to urban decksteading

Which basically means I planted some vegetables (peas and spinach) in containers on the deck instead of in the yard. I have a decent sized yard, but there are some mature ash trees, some sizable evergreens and a garage in the southwest corner. All of which deals a blow to 6+ hours of sunlight in the back. I wouldn’t be shy about planting in the front, even though my neighbors have certain biases towards the monoculture (and aren’t particularly shy about voicing it–I’m leaving the dandelions!), but there are a couple of large trees there as well. Oh, and there are predatory rabbits. So I tend to plant anything I might want to eat in containers on the deck. Last year it was a lot of herbage and spinach; this year I’ve added sugar peas. 

 

Sugar peas with spinach

Sugar peas with spinach

Last I counted, I had 40 sprouts.  You know, I didn’t expect that many. Granted there’s no guarantee that I’ll actually get peas, but I’ll be spending some time tomorrow figuring out how to stake them. On the plus side, I’ve already gotten about three handfuls of baby spinach this week; some of my gardening compatriots who’ve gone with the yard approach have just barely gotten seedlings for theirs. I may have started earlier though. Whatever, I can take the jealousy. As you can see here, I have one of those cheap 3 tier wire shelving dealies that I use on the deck to get things started. And once things get larger, I just use the top shelf. That way, I can have 3 layers — a few of those deck rail planters with spinach or herbs, pots on the deck with larger plants (soon to be the peas), and pots on the top shelf for excess pots. No problems with rabbits, but the squirrels and grackles can get a little feisty. Thus the little bamboo sticks. I put some around the pots, especially when the plants are small, to make the edges and interior hard to get at. Pretty ugly but it gets the job done. I’ll leave you with something prettier:

 

The first flower on the azaleas

The first flower on the azaleas

Categories

