Posted by: gisspar | April 4, 2009

Impulse notebook shopping

Don’t get me wrong – I love my moleskines. But while I was aimlessly trolling through a local craft store, I ran across these little Quattro notebooks in the drafting section. I picked up the 5.5 x 4.5 version; there was one that was tall and narrow and a few more traditional sizes. 

Isometric cover fun

Isometric cover fun

I’m not really sure yet what I’m going to do with it, but there’s something about chartreuse/olive green things that I find hard to resist. Unless it’s clothing (yuck). The grid inside really sold me on it. The little circles on the axes are fantastic, as is the isometric box on the front. I do think it will require some kind of rubber band or something to keep it closed; especially after the front cover is folded back (see those 3 lines across the top?). And of course, if you were with for the Nesbo discussion, you’ll recall my fondness for matte finishes on book covers. The same applies to this notebook. I’d tell you about how well it works with Sharpies or something, but I’m not marking it up until it’s told me what it wants to be.

The grid

The grid

Anyway, when I was looking up the brand to see what it’s about, I found this blog post at Portland Spaces. It included 2 great quotes (1 from the blog and 1 from a famous person):

But the grid makes me feel like Buckminster Fuller meets Marie Curie (with a little Louise Nevelson thrown in for good measure). Like.

”According to metaphysics, thinking is circular. But when you square the circle, then you are in the place of wisdom.”—Louise Nevelson

That is even more pressure to add to starting a new journal. Seriously, now I have to move to a place of wisdom? Eek.

Dude, it just occurred to me – the quattro coordinates with the Orla Kiely tumblers (I have the tall one). This is not something I usually worry about with the moleskine since black goes with everything.

Orla Kiely tumblers from Target

Orla Kiely tumblers from Target

Categories

