Posted by: gisspar | March 17, 2009

This has little bearing on St. Pat’s

but it is about a bar, so there is that. 

Last fall, I went to Boulder for work. Before I left, one of my coworkers said that I absolutely had to go to the Boulder Brewery and, since I had never been to Boulder, I said sure, why not. It didn’t hurt that it was only a couple of miles from the hotel.

So the last night in town, I set off on a grueling two mile haul partly through an open air mall. Two blocks away, I was pretty sure I was lost (somewhat embarrassing for a GIS professional), but I persevered and took a seat at the bar. Everything seemed pretty normal for a brewery – a fair amount of locals enjoying a Tuesday night, TV on showing the Avs game, big shiny beer vats through a window.

Singletrack Copper Ale Sign, Boulder Brewery

And then, about a third of the way through a burger and a Singletrack Copper Ale, the bartender switched from the Avs, who I’m pretty sure were winning at the time, to It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown. I mean, it’s not like it’s a sports bar or anything, but a Peanuts special is almost the last thing I would think of in that situation. I didn’t mind; it is my favorite Peanuts special (and was being recorded on the DVR at home). And I scored a nifty pint glass, not for the Singletrack, but for the Hazed & Infused which is pretty sweet. It’s got Hazed & Infused printed backwards so that you can read it while you drink. So that leaves us with good burger, a good beer, Charlie Brown, and a little bit of good design. You can’t really ask for too much more than that. Except maybe a cab.

Categories

