Posted by: gisspar | March 6, 2009

Me and my moleskine

Or three. A small, hard cover gridded one for gardening, book lists, things to remember and paint chips; a small, soft cover plain one for more art related pursuits; and a large journalist’s plain one for GIS/coding ideas. After I got over the fear of ruining a nice moleskine, , I’ve started wondering about what I’m going to do when I run out of pages. How am I going to store them? Should I mark up the outside with a title? Should I mark up the page edges with a title? Should I just stack them up and hope for luck to strike when I feel like thumbing through one later? Moleskines are a lot of pressure – you’ve got to start writing/drawing in one, keep writing/drawing in one, and then store it so you can find all of your brilliant ideas later. Oy.

Just so you know, I used to use a Uniball Signo gel pen but the ink doesn’t dry fast enough. I’ve switched to the new Sharpie pen because, well, it’s a Sharpie and there’s a certain amount of art/design peer pressure to love your Sharpie. And the ink dries quickly and without smearing. I hope they make a medium tip one, more of a blend between regular Sharpie and Sharpie pen.

Categories

